Boosting Our Economy - Celebrating Our Culture - Enhancing Our Children's Education

Boosting Our Economy - Celebrating Our Culture - Enhancing Our Children's Education

News & Events

Northern Ireland Student Television Award winners announced by Royal Television Society

Date Posted: March 24, 2020

The winners of the Royal Television Society Northern Ireland (RTS NI) Student Television Awards were announced today.

Vikkie Taggart, Chair of RTS NI said: “As an educational charity these awards help the RTS to raise awareness of the amazing home grown talent emerging from our third level colleges which play an increasingly important role in preparing future generations for a career in the local film and TV industry.

“This year’s entries all displayed very high standards of creativity, innovation and technical capability and I know the judges had a difficult task selecting our winners. We wish all our Northern Ireland winners every success in the national RTS Awards in June and look forward to showcasing their winning works at our Programme Awards in November.”

The RTS NI Student Television Awards are supported by Northern Ireland ScreenHead of Education, Bernard McCloskey, said: “Congratulations to everyone who has taken part in this year’s awards. Winning an RTS NI Student Television Award gives these students a prestigious accolade to help them with their future careers. These awards are a great way to nurture and encourage the fantastic creative talent we have in Northern Ireland.”

Maeve McLoughlin, Vice Chair, RTS NI said: “These awards provide an amazing platform to showcase the wealth of young talent emerging from across Northern Ireland in the creative industries. Everyone who takes part is a winner by making the most of the opportunities provided by the RTS to meet potential employers and top professionals who can assist with their careers.”

Sponsored by Carson McDowell, Stellify Media, and Performance Film & Media Insurance, the winners of these Awards go forward to the national RTS Student Media Awards which are planned for June. The winners will also be invited to this year’s RTS NI Programme Awards, where their work will be showcased in front of the top professionals across the screen industries.

The winners are:

Animation Award (sponsored by Performance Film & Insurance Media)
Winner: Cosmic Echoes by Phoebe Long, John Hannon, Jakub Bajoaowski and Jack Creaner, Ulster University
Highly commended: Home by Rhea Hanlon and Méabh Gilheany, Ulster Univeristy

Comedy & Entertainment (sponsored by Stellify Media)
Winner: Crème Brulee or Chocolate Souffle? by Michael Murray Draine, Stacey Burns, Jack Devlin, Ronan Karicos, Mark Hanna, Callum Russell, and Dylan Kane, Belfast Metropolitan College
Highly commended: Fun Times in Sinister Pines by Carolan Brolly, Benjamin Porter and Jared Green, Ulster University

Winner: Circle by Marc McCabe, Samantha Davies, Stephen Parker and Lee Seales, NI Film and Television School at SERC, Bangor
Highly commended: The Man in the Bath by Elsa Hunter-Weston, Caoilfhionn MacEoin-Manus, Caleb Roberts and Shauna Luckie, Queens University Belfast

Winner: A Love Letter to my Mum by Margaret Mackel, Ulster University
Highly commended: Visions of Success by Callum Harrison, Peter Young and James Nugent, Queens University Belfast

News (sponsored by Carson McDowell)
Winner: Voices of the Border by righid Sheridan, Michael Kane, Dionne Meehan, Darren Harkin, Daire Villa, Moya O’Donnell and Joe Kennedy, North West Regional College
Highly commended: Rising from the Ashes by Raffaella Carter, Belfast Metropolitan College

Short Form
Winner: In the Now by Marie-Louise McKenna and Caoimhe Lennon, Ulster University
Highly commended: Big Boys Don’t Cry by Ellery Wooff, Queen’s University Belfast

Winner: Lost Memories by Conor Barrow, David Mcintyre & Tiarnan Hatchell, Ulster University


© 2020 Northern Ireland Screen. All Rights Reserved